Shapewear, Girdles, and Olga the Fat Sucker!

I took a risk today. I have been working pretty hard on getting my body to where I want it to be ‪#‎healthy‬ ‪#‎happy‬ so I threw caution to the wind and didn’t wear my spanx!

BG-CT-NCL-ANGLE_grande

Even though I didn’t go completely bare (I put some body glide on), I still chaffed between my thighs. But I call this a win! I’m pretty proud of myself for stepping out of my comfort zone and it allows me to normalize a topic that most people think of as TABOO!

YOU ARE NOT ALONE! There are a lot of body types in this world and some of them, like mine, are prone to this uncomfortable side effect. It doesn’t mean you are less than anyone else! You are beautiful!!

I know that this can be a pretty private or embarrassing topic for most people, but I’ve never felt that way. Maybe it’s because I have an amazing mom, who taught me to love my body and to embrace the art of “Olga the fat sucker” aka the art of shapewear that she learned from Olga, the lovely lady she bought some of her girdles from.

pSPXNA-2125_BLACK_main_v275

In case you don’t know what Shapewear is, please see the image above and know that it does just like the name says: it holds your body into a more pleasing shape. It nips and tucks those imperfections without going under the KNIFE! I have always been an advocate for shapewear, and I still am. BUT one of my goals is to one day live a life where shapewear for me is a thing of the past, or at least something that is optional!

Although today wasn’t that day and I definitely have the chaffing to prove it… hopefully it won’t be too far in the future either. However, today also reminded me that even at my thinnest, when I was in the best shape of my life, running college XC, I was still wearing spanx. Maybe my thighs will always touch and I’m ok with that. We shall see!

Either way the spanx are going back on for tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

